Search
Close this search box.
Église Saint Nicolas, Walter Maria Förderer, Hérémence, 1967-1971, Swiss Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com

Église Saint Nicolas

Picture of Words & Photography: Karin Bürki

Text & Bilder: Karin Bürki

Das Matterhorn des Schweizer Brutalismus

Es ist 17 Meter hoch, und erstreckt sich über mehrere Plateaus. Mit seinen seinen Knicken, zahlreichen Öffnungen, Ecken und Kanten sieht es aus wie aus dem Fels gehauen. Am 31. Oktober 1971 wurde das Kirchenmassiv, eingeweiht. Es ist eine Offenbarung, und zwar nicht nur für Fans von Sichtbeton. Kein Wunder, steht Walter Maria Förderers kühne Kombination aus Gesamtkunstwerk und Mehrzweckbau unter nationalem Denkmalschutz. Auf zur Pilgerreise.

Der Aufstieg beginnt eher weltlich. Der Sockelbau an der Rue Principale integriert Bar, Dorfladen, Postschalter und öffentliche Toiletten. Wettergegerbte Chalets säumen die schmale Strasse. Betontreppen führen auf das Plateau. Es ist ein karger, exponierter Platz. In der Mitte plätschert ein Brunnen aus ineinander verschachtelten Betonquadern, mitsamt akkurat arrangierten pinkfarbenen Geranien-Arrangements in Eternitschalen von Willy Guhl. Hier auf der zugigen Esplanade befindet sich auch der etwas versteckte Eingang zur Kirche. Es lohnt sich, einen Moment innezuhalten und die Kräfte zu schonen, denn ab jetzt ist Schnappatmung angesagt.

Der monumentale Innenraum ist selbst für hartgesottene Gemüter ohne religiösen Bezug eine Offenbarung. Der sechseckige, höhlenartige Raum bietet 1000 Menschen Platz. Expressionistische Betonstrukturen, deren Wirkung durch den indirekten Lichteinfall mittels gezielt gesetzten Öffnungen in der zerklüfteten Decke noch verstärkt wird, ziehen das Auge sofort in ihren Bann. Die liturgischen Elemente sind aus Holz und atmen den offenen und integrativen Geist des Zweiten Vatikanischen Konzils von 1962-1965. An den Wänden und Decken schlucken Holzrahmen den Schall und beherbergen Gemälde aus der alten Kirche. Vor der architektonischen Wucht kann man nicht anders, als ergriffen auf die Knie zu fallen.

Doch die Reise ist noch nicht zu Ende. Über eine Treppe gelangt man in die Rue d’Église, wo sich die Postautohaltestelle und der Zugang zum Kirchturm befinden. Hier zeigt sich Förderer von seiner pragmatischen und serviceorientierten Seite: Im Turm befindet sich eine Bibliothek. Ganz oben lockt eine Aussichtsplattform. Sie bietet einen grandiosen Rundblick auf das Dorf, die weissen Erdpyramiden von Euseigne auf der benachbarten Talseite, die schneebedeckte Dent Blanche und weitere hochalpine Gipfel.

Die Romantiker hätten an Förderers erhabener Sakralskulptur ihre wahre Freude gehabt. In den zerklüfteten Felsformationen, verwinkelten Treppen und heiligen Höhlen prallen sie aufeinander, die grossen helvetischen Sehnsuchtskulissen, die Mythen und die Moderne, die Berge und der Beton. Wie dem auch sei, und möge kommen, was wolle. Das Betonherz von Hérémence schlägt weiter, gross, unzerbrechlich und schön. Amen.

Ein Erdbeben zerstörte 1946 die alte Kirche. Die Gemeinde schrieb einen Wettbewerb für einen Ersatzneubau aus. Die Jury entschied sich für den Entwurf von Walter Maria Förderer. Der Bildhauer und Architekt mit Büro in Basel hatte sich mit aufsehenerregenden expressiven Sichtbetonbauten international einen Namen gemacht und galt als Koryphäe des brutalistischen Kirchenbaus. Wer Förderer bestellte, bekam keine profane Kirche, sondern die moderne Dreifaltigkeit aus unbedingtem Glaubensbekenntnis, Gesamtkunstwerk und pragmatischem Mehrzweckbau.
Mit monumentalen Betonbauten kannte man sich in Hérémence bereits aus. Am Ende des Tals war zwischen 1951 und 1961 die Grande Dixence errichtet worden. Mit einer Höhe von 285 m ist die Gewichtsstaumauer bis heute die höchste der Welt. Das lokale Baugewerbe hatte viel Know-how gesammelt. Im Steinbruch oberhalb der Staumauer lagerte noch reichlich Geröll für den Bau der Betonkirche. Der Wasserzins spülte viel Geld ins Tal, Beton versprach wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung. Die anfänglichen Berührungsängste waren schnell verflogen. Nach der fast einstimmigen Zustimmung der Gemeindemitglieder im Jahr 1966 wurde die Kirche Saint Nicolas zwischen 1967 und 1971 erbaut.

© Karin Bürki/Heartbrut

© Karin Bürki/Heartbrut

Franziskushaus, abandoned former retreat house, conference centre and student campus, Otto Glaus, 1969, Swiss brutalism. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
St Anthony's Church, Antoniuskirche, Karl Moser, Basel, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Flamatt II, Atelier 5, Wünnewil-Flamatt, Canton of Fribourg 1961. A Swiss pioneer of brutalist architecture © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Three Loops, Betonschleife, Ralph Bänziger, Zurich 1977, Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com

Suchen...
Close this search box.
Église Saint Nicolas, Walter Maria Förderer, Hérémence, 1967-1971, Swiss Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com

Église Saint Nicolas

Words & Photography: Karin Bürki

Words & Photography: Karin Bürki

The concrete church of Saint Nicolas in the Valais mountain village of Hérémence, designed by Walter Maria Förderer, is considered the undisputed Matterhorn of Swiss Brutalism.

Inaugurated on 31 October 1971, the 17-metre-high church massif, which extends over several plateaus, appears to have been carved out of the rock with its numerous openings, nooks and crannies. It is a revelation, and not just for lovers of exposed concrete. No wonder the awe-inspiring combination of Gesamtkunstwerk and multi-purpose building has been declared a national monument. A pilgrimage.

The ascent to the sacred icon begins in a more secular way. The base houses a bar, a village shop, a post office and a public toilet. Weather-beaten chalets line the narrow street. A concrete staircase leads up to the exposed central plateau. A fountain of interlocking concrete blocks gurgles in the centre. It is decorated with shocking pink geraniums, carefully arranged in Eternit planters by Willy Guhl. The draughty esplanade is also the location of the church’s slightly hidden main entrance. Before entering, it is worth having a moment’s rest, because you are about to be blown away.

The monumental interior is a revelation, even for the hardboiled and unbelieving. The vast, grotto-like, hexagonal space can hold 1000 people. Expressionist concrete structures immediately catch the eye. Indirect light falling through strategically placed openings in the jagged ceiling adds an extra sense of spine-tingling excitement. The liturgical elements are made of wood and embody the open and inclusive spirit of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Along the walls and ceiling, wooden frames absorb the noise and frame paintings from the old church. You cannot help but fall to your knees, such is the architectural power of this Gesamtkunstwerk. No miracles were needed for Förderer’s masterpiece to be quickly granted national heritage status.

But the journey does not end there. An outside staircase leads to Rue d’Église, where the post bus stop and access to the church tower are located. This is where Förderer shows his pragmatic and service-oriented side. As well as housing a library, the tower has a viewing platform at the top. It offers a sweeping view of the village, the white earth pyramids of Euseigne across the valley, the snow-capped Dent Blanche and other high Alpine peaks.

The Romantics would have taken great delight in Förderer’s sublime erratic block. In the jagged rock formations, winding staircases and sacred caves, they collide, the great Helvetic scenes of longing, myth and modernity, mountains and concrete. Whatever the future holds, the concrete heart and soul of Hérémence will continue to beat, strong, indestructible and beautiful. Amen.

In 1946, an earthquake destroyed the old church. The municipality announced a competition for a replacement building. The jury chose Walter Maria Förderer’s project. The Basel-based sculptor and architect had made an international name for himself with a series of eye-catching, expressive designs in exposed concrete and was considered a luminary of sacral brutalism. Those who commissioned Förderer were not interested in profane churches, but expected nothing less than the modern trinity of an unconditional confession of faith, a total work of art and a pragmatic multi-purpose building.
Hérémence was already familiar with monumental concrete structures. At the end of the valley, the Grande Dixence was built between 1951 and 1961. At 285 metres high, it is still the highest gravity dam in the world. The local construction companies had accumulated a wealth of know-how. There was plenty of rubble in the quarry above the reservoir that could be used to build the church. Water rates brought good money to the valley. Instead of sparking fears, concrete promised economic prosperity. Almost unanimously approved by the parishioners in 1966, the church was built between 1967 and 1971.

© Karin Bürki/Heartbrut

© Karin Bürki/Heartbrut

Hardbruecke Bridge, Zurich, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Saurer Tower, Saurerhochhaus, Georges-Pierre Dubois, Arbon, 1958-1960, Swiss Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Swissmill Tower, Haarder Haas Partner, Zurich, 2013-2016, Swiss Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Autosilo Balestra, multi storey car park and shopping centre, Carlo Cesarini, Lugano, 1978 Ticino, Swiss brutalism. Explore more on Heartbrut.com