Search
Close this search box.
Swissmill Tower, Haarder Haas Partner, Zurich, 2013-2016, Swiss Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com

Swissmill Tower

Picture of Words & Photography: Karin Bürki

Text & Bilder: Karin Bürki

118 Meter roher Beton, 21 Stockwerke und ein Weltrekord

Das markante Ausrufezeichen mitten im Ausgehviertel Kreis 5 ist das höchste Getreidesilo der Welt. Der fugenlose Sichtbetonturm aus dem Jahr 2016 hat die Industriearchitektur in Zürich-West in neue luftige Höhen katapultiert und erhitzt mit seiner architektonischen Schroffheit die Gemüter. Doch hinter der rohen Fassade verbirgt sich ein nachhaltiger Kern. Inzwischen freundet sich auch die Zürcher Bevölkerung mit ihrem neuen Wahrzeichen aus Beton an. Vor allem mit dem Schatten, den der Turm bei Hitzewellen spendet.

Überraschung: Nicht Grössenwahn, sondern Nachhaltigkeit und Logistiküberlegungen gaben den Ausschlag. Doch der Reihe nach: Der Swissmill Tower ergänzt die historische Stadtmühle und nutzt auch deren direkten Bahnanschluss. Viermal täglich verlässt ein voll beladener Getreidezug das Silo in Richtung Bahnhof Hardbrücke. Angesichts der Tatsache, dass das Silo 30% des nationalen Getreidebedarfs abdeckt, ergibt die zentrale Lage mit Anschluss ans Schweizer Schienennetz also durchaus Sinn. Die Südseite des Turms dient als vertikale Solaranlage. Und schon fällt der nächste Rekord: Die sechs Panels bildeten nach ihrer Fertigstellung die höchste Solarfassade Europas.
Nachdem der Stadtrat 2010 grünes Licht für den Bau des Siloturms gegeben hatte, formierte sich schnell Widerstand: Die Aussicht auf 21 Stockwerke aus Sichtbeton führte unweigerlich zu hitzigen Debatten. Für die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner des angrenzenden Quartiers Wipkingen war der Hauptstreitpunkt jedoch nicht die neobrutalistische Architektur an sich, sondern der stundenlange Schatten, den der Turm an Sommernachmittagen auf das beliebte Flussbad Unterer Letten zu werfen drohte. Innerhalb eines Monats unterzeichneten 4000 Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner ein Referendum. Am 13. Februar 2011 sprach sich eine klare Mehrheit von 58,3 Prozent für den Siloturm aus (55'822 legten ein Ja in die Urne, 39'913 ein Nein. Die Stimmbeteiligung betrug 45,7 Prozent). Als der Turm 2016 endlich stand, titelte das «NZZ am Sonntag Magazin» in ungewohnter Brutalität: «118 Meter Hässlichkeit».

© Karin Bürki/Heartbrut

© Karin Bürki/Heartbrut

Saurer Tower, Saurerhochhaus, Georges-Pierre Dubois, Arbon, 1958-1960, Swiss Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
St Anthony's Church, Antoniuskirche, Karl Moser, Basel, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Stettbach School, Secondary School, Esther + Rudolf Guyer, Zurich, 1964-1967,© Karin Bürki/Heartbrut, Swiss Brutalism. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Three Loops, Betonschleife, Ralph Bänziger, Zurich 1977, Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com

Suchen...
Close this search box.
Swissmill Tower, Haarder Haas Partner, Zurich, 2013-2016, Swiss Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com

Swissmill Tower

Picture of Words & Photography: Karin Bürki

Words & Photography: Karin Bürki

118 metres of raw concrete, 21 storeys and a world record

The neo-brutalist tower in the heart of Kreis 5 nightlife district is the world’s tallest grain silo. The striking exclamation mark from 2016 has catapulted industrial architecture in Zurich West to new lofty heights and polarised opinion with its architectural brusqueness. But behind the rough facade lies a sustainable core. Meanwhile, the locals are slowly warming to their new concrete landmark – especially the shadow it casts during heat waves.

Surprise: it was not megalomania but sustainability and logistics that tipped the scales. But first things first: Swissmill Tower complements the historic city mill and meets 30% of the national demand for grain. It uses the city mill’s existing rail connection. Four times a day, a fully loaded grain train leaves the silo for Hardbrücke station. The south side of the tower serves as a vertical solar installation. Now watch the next record tumble: at the time of completion, the six panels formed the highest solar facade in Europe.
After the city council gave the go-ahead for the radical silo tower in 2010, opposition quickly formed: the prospect of 21 storeys of exposed concrete inevitably led to a heated debate. For the residents of the neighbouring Wipkingen quarter, the main point of contention was not the neo-brutalist architecture per se, but the hours of shadow the tower threatened to cast on the popular Unterer Letten lido on summer afternoons. Within a month, 4000 residents had signed a petition. On 13 February 2011, a clear majority of 58.3 per cent voted in favour of the silo tower (55,822 put a ‘yes’ in the ballot box, 39,913 a ‘no’). The turnout was 45.7%). When the tower finally stood in 2016, the unimpressed “NZZ am Sonntag” (a highbrow Sunday paper) declared with unusual brutality: “118 metres of ugliness”.

© Karin Bürki/Heartbrut

© Karin Bürki/Heartbrut

PMS Kreuzlingen, Esther + Rudolf Guyer © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Unteraffoltern II, Georges-Pierre Dubois, Zurich, 1967-1970, Swiss Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones, Toblerone Trail, Canton Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Hochhaus zur Palme High-Rise, Haefeli Moser Steiger, Zurich, 1955-1964, Swiss Brutalism, © Karin Bürki/Heartbrut. Explore more on Heartbrut.com