Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com

SENTIER DES TOBLERONES (TOBLERONE TRAIL)

Schweizer Panzerabwehrlinie des Zweiten Weltkriegs, Bassins bis Nyon, Kanton Waadt, 1939-1944

© Bilder & Text: Karin Bürki / HEARTBRUT

Tobleronen aus der Kriegszeit (auch für Nicht-Naschkatzen geeignet)

Sie betreten nun eine der faszinierendsten Ecken des Schweizer Reduit-Erbes: Die Promenthouse-Befestigungslinie besteht aus rund 3000 Betonblöcken, die der Panzersicherung dienen. Ihre Form scheint direkt vom berühmten Schweizer Honigschokoladenriegel inspiriert zu sein - daher der Spitzname. Die Befestigungslinie wurde im Zweiten Weltkrieg errichtet, um eine deutsche Panzerinvasion von Frankreich aus zu verhindern, und erstreckt sich vom Dorf Bassins in den Juraausläufern bis zum Genfersee. Die Tobleronen folgen der natürlichen Barriere des Promenthouse-Sérine-Tals entlang dreier Flüsse und erreichen nach gut 18 km die mittelalterliche Seestadt Nyon. Der Tobleronenweg ist eine faszinierende Reise in die leicht unheimlich anmutende Welt der Kriegsschweiz. Aber keine Angst: Sie ist heute gänzlich von friedliebender Waldnatur erobert.

Die Panzersperren wurden von Soldaten und zahlreichen arbeitslosen Arbeitern an Ort und Stelle errichtet. Ausrangierte Schienen dienten als behelfsmässiges Transportmittel für den Zement. Zahlreiche patriotisch gesinnte Einheimische stellten Teile ihres Landes kostenlos für die Landesverteidigung zur Verfügung.

Die erste Serie der Tobleronen ist klein und pyramidenförmig. Das Standardhindernis ist etwa 2 Meter hoch und wiegt zwischen neun und 14 Tonnen. Ursprünglich reichten die Drachenzähne 50 Meter in den Genfer See hinein, um einen amphibischen Angriff abzuwehren.

Die Befestigungslinie umfasst auch zwölf Bunker entlang ihrer Route. Sie sind zwar verwittert, aber in Anbetracht ihres Alters und der Umwelteinflüsse in einem bemerkenswert guten Zustand. Der spektakulärste Bunker ist die Villa Rose bei Gland. Das scheinbar herrschaftliche Haus in zarten Rosatönen war in Tat und Wahrheit sind bis an die Zähne mit panzerzerstörenden Waffen vollgestopft Schiessanlage. Ihr wahrer Zweck wurde bis in die 1990er Jahre unter Verschluss gehalten. Heute ist die Villa ein Museum und ist in ihren ursprünglichen Zustand aus der Kriegszeit zurückversetzt.

Die leicht surrealistisch anmutende Welt der Kriegs-Tobleronen und die zahlreichen Festungen entlang der Strecke sind jedoch nicht die einzigen Attraktionen. Die heute zu einem Lehrpfad umgestaltete Verteidigungslinie schlängelt sich durch verwunschene Wälder, gurgelnde Flüsse und Winzerdörfer und bietet herrliche Ausblicke auf den nicht minder erhabenen Genfer See. Die von feindlichen Truppen gänzlich unversehrten Panzersperren sind während rund neun Jahrzehnten Frieden still und leise von der Natur erobert worden. Sie sind mit Moos, Efeu und Brombeeren bewachsen und bieten einen idealen Lebensraum für Insekten und andere Kleintiere. Trotz ihrer immer noch leicht unheimlichen Präsenz haben sich die Tobleronen perfekt in die Schluchten, Wälder und die sanft geschwungenen Felder und Weinberge eingefügt und prägen diesen idyllischen Abschnitt der Côte-Region.

Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Scroll to Top

Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com

SENTIER DES TOBLERONES (TOBLERONE TRAIL)

Swiss WWII Anti-Tank Fortification Line, Bassins to Nyon, Canton of Vaud, 1939-1944

© Images & Text: Karin Bürki / HEARTBRUT

Wartime Toblerones (No Sweet Tooth Required)

You are about to enter one of the most intriguing cornes of Switzerland’s reduit heritage: the Promenthouse Fortification Line comprises almost 3000 angular concrete anti-tank blocks, nicknamed after the famous honey & chocolate bar. Erected during WWII to prevent German tank invasion from France, the line extends from the village of Bassins in the Jura foothills to Lake Geneva. It follows the natural barrier of the Promenthouse-Sérine valley along the course of three rivers before reaching the medieval lakeside town of Nyon, a good 18 km later. The Toblerone Trail makes for a fascinating journey into the eerie world of wartime Switzerland – now thoroughly invaded by the friendly forces of woodland nature.

The anti-tank barriers were built in-situ by soldiers and scores of unemployed workers. Discarded rails served as a makeshift means of transport for the cement. A great number of patriotic local transfered parts of their land free of charge in support of the miliary cause.

The first batch of the toblerones are small and pyramid-shaped. The standard-issue obstacle measures around 2 metres in height and weighs between 9-14 tons. Originally the dragon’s teeth used to extend 50 metres into Lake Geneva to prevent an amphibious assault.

The fortification line also features twelve pillboxes along its route. Though weather-beaten, the chaps are in a remarkably good shape, considering their age and exposure to the elements. The most spectacular one is Villa Rose near Gland. The seemingly stately home in fetching blushed pink was in fact packed to the teeth with armour-destroying weaponry. Its true purpose was kept under wraps until the 1990s. Now a museum, the villa has been restored to its original wartime state.

The slightly surrealist world of wartime toblerones and scores of fortresses lining the route are not the only attractions, though. Now converted into an educational trail, the path snakes along magical woodland, gurgling rivers and winegrowers’ villages, offering splendid views over the never not sublime Lake Geneva. Undisturbed by enemy troops the tank traps have been quietly invaded by the friendly forces of nature in the ensuing nine decades of peacetime. Covered in moss, yvy and brambles they provide an ideal habitat for insects and other small animals. While the toblerones have blended perfectly into the gorges, forestland and acres of gently rolling fields and vineyards, they continue to stamp their still slightly eerie mark on this idyllic stretch of La Côte region.

Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Sentier des Toblerones (Toblerone Trail), Canton of Vaud, Swiss WWII anti-tank fortification line, built 1939-1944 © Karin Bürki. Explore more on Heartbrut.com
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Scroll to Top